Skip to content
Menu

Content Archives: Refuse and Recycling

Republic Services Holiday Service Reminder

In observance of our nation’s holidays, your service may be impacted on the following days:

New Year’s Day
Memorial Day
Independence Day
Labor Day
Thanksgiving Day
Christmas Day

Collection will resume on your next scheduled day. If your recycling collection falls on the holiday, Republic Services will pick up recycling on your second day.

Trash and recycling will not be picked up on Monday, September 4th due to the Labor Day Holiday. You may put out both trash and recycling on your second pickup day, Thursday, September 7th.

Lehigh County Household Hazardous Waste Collection Event

Lehigh County will be holding a household hazardous waste collection event for COUNTY RESIDENTS ONLY. This does not include commercial contractors, businesses, or establishments.

This event will be held on October 28th, 2017.

In order to participate, Lehigh County residents must first pre-register for this event, and then produce identification with a valid Lehigh County address when you arrive on the day of the event. To pre-register, simply go to the Lehigh County home page and click on the link which will be available after September 1st, 2017. You will be provided with additional information at that time regarding acceptable materials, times, and location.

Click Here for Details »

2017 Yard Waste Drop Off Sites And Schedules

Printable documents:

Both sites open 8:00AM to 1:00PM on dates listed below. Note that the 5th Tuesday and Saturday will be open, check for location.

Devonshire Drop Off – Open the FIRST and THIRD Tuesday and Saturday of each month from March through December. Hours of Operation are 8:00AM to 1:00PM.

Devonshire Drop-Off Dates for 2017

Devonshire Drop Off

• Tuesday, May 2
• Saturday, May 6
• Tuesday, May 16
• Saturday, May 20
• Saturday, June 3
• Tuesday, June 6
• Saturday, June 17
• Tuesday, June 20
• Saturday, July 1
• Saturday, July 15
• Tuesday, July 18
• Saturday, July 29
• Tuesday, August 1
• Saturday, August 5
• Tuesday, August 15
• Saturday, August 19
• Saturday, September 2
• Tuesday, September 5
• Saturday, September 16
• Tuesday, September 19
• Tuesday, October 3
• Saturday, October 7
• Tuesday, October 17
• Saturday, October 21
• Saturday, November 4
• Tuesday, November 7
• Saturday, November 18
• Tuesday, November 21
• Saturday, December 2
• Tuesday, December 5

Located on Devonshire Road, near the Elementary and Middle Schools, across the street from Western Salisbury Jerusalem Church.


Franko Drop Off
– Open the SECOND and FOURTH Tuesday and Saturday of each month from March through December. Hours Operation are 8:00AM to 1:00PM.

Franko Farm Drop-Off Dates for 2017

 

Franko Drop Off

• Tuesday, May 9
• Saturday, May 13
• Tuesday, May 23
• Saturday, May 27
• Tuesday, May 30
• Saturday, June 10
• Tuesday, June 16
• Saturday, June 24
• Tuesday, June 27
• Saturday, July 8
• Tuesday, July 11
• Saturday, July 22
• Tuesday, July 25
• Tuesday, August 8
• Saturday, August 12
• Tuesday, August 22
• Saturday, August 26
• Tuesday, August 29
• Saturday, September 9
• Tuesday, September 12
• Saturday, September 23
• Tuesday, September 26
• Tuesday, October 10
• Saturday, October 14
• Tuesday, October 24
• Saturday, October 28
• Tuesday, October 31
• Saturday, November 11
• Tuesday, November 14
• Saturday, November 25
• Tuesday, November 28
• Tuesday, December 9
• Saturday, December 12

LEAVES ONLY ACCEPTED AT FRANKO FARM – MUST BE CLEAN AND NOT MIXED WITH GRASS OR YARD WASTE
CUT LAWN GRASS ACCEPTED AT BOTH LOCATIONS – MUST BE CLEAN AND NOT MIXED WITH YARD WASTE

Located off East Emmaus Avenue. At the Eastern Salisbury Fire Company, turn south onto Honeysuckle Road, 1/4 mile up on Honeysuckle Road on the left side.

Evening Hours – MONDAY & THURSDAY from 3:00PM to 6:00PM May, June & July
Note that the 5th Monday or Thursday will be open, check for location.

    Franko May   June   July  
Open 1st & 3rd 
Mon. & Thur.
Mon. Thur. Mon. Thur. Mon. Thur.
1 4 5 1 3 6
15 18 19 15 17 20
        29  31  
Devonshire May   June   July  
Open 2nd & 4th
Mon. & Thur.
Mon. Thur. Mon. Thur. Mon. Thur.
8 11 12 8 10 13
22 25 26 22 24 27
C          

* C – Drop off Centers are closed.

2017 FALL BRANCH COLLECTION
The 2017 FALL Branch Collection is scheduled to take place September 18th – 22nd. Residents should place the branches at the curb on Sunday after 6 p.m. Branches may be no longer than 5 feet long and 5 inches in diameter. Branches should be bundled and tied with twine. Open containers (no lids) can be used for small branches.

ITEMS ACCEPTED:

Yard Waste – Plants & Trimmings, NO roots, rocks, concrete, or newspaper.

Branches – Branches no more than 5′ long, maximum 5″ diameter, NO stumps or felled trees.

Leaves – Accepted ONLY at Franko Site.

Grass – Grass must be clean, not to be mixed with other yard waste. Containers/Bags will be checked.
* Only Grass allowed – No commingling with your yard waste or other plant waste.

* Grass clippings must be separated and transported by residents to the drop off centers.

* Proper ID will be required to determine residency.

* Bags and other containers used to transport the grass clippings will be checked to make sure that they contain only grass clippings and no other waste. Contaminated bags will not be accepted and will be returned to the resident. Bags that contain grass clippings only will be dumped into the grass containers and empty bags will be returned to the residents. The Township will not accept any bags after being emptied. Residents that utilize trailers to transport the grass must be able to shovel the grass into the containers, which will be equipped with doors. No Township personnel will be permitted to shovel grass from trailers.

* The Township Drop Off Centers will collect grass clippings generated only from home owners mowing their own grass. Residents that currently use a commercial landscaper for mowing their grass must make their own arrangement with the commercial landscaper to dispose of grass clippings.
NO COMMERCIAL LANDSCAPER GRASS CLIPPINGS WILL BE ALLOWED.

* NO ILLEGAL DUMPING OF GRASS WILL BE TOLERATED. RESIDENTS MUST USE THE DROP OFF CENTER FOR DUMPING GRASS. ANYONE CAUGHT DUMPING GRASS ON ANY PUBLIC RIGHT OF WAY OR PUBLIC PARK OR PROPERTY WILL BE CITED ACCORDINGLY. 

RESIDENT IDENTIFICATION: People using the Centers will be required to show a current year Salisbury Township utility bill receipt and their Driver’s License to certify Township residency.

RESTRICTIONS: The Centers will be open for residential use ONLY, Commerical landscapers and other non-residential use will not be allowed.

NO DROPPING OFF OF ANY MATERIALS WHEN THE CENTERS ARE CLOSED.

NO DUMPING ALLOWED!!! VIOLATORS WILL BE PROSECUTED!!!

Salisbury Township Leaf Collection

LATEST UPDATE

Starting Tuesday, December 13, 2016, the Salisbury Township Public Works Department will continue the next round of leaf collection. One crew will be in the Saddlebrook area working towards Meadowbrook.  The second crew will be working in the Devonshire area.


The Salisbury Township Public Works Department will begin the curbside vacuum leaf collection starting on Monday, October 24, 2016. The collection will begin in the First Ward (east) and will continue westward through mid to late December, weather permitting. Residents are asked to place their leaves along the edge of the road. To facilitate the vacuum leaf pickup, please keep all vehicles away from the area where leaves are piled. For your convenience, we will be posting leaf crew location and general direction of collection each Friday throughout the leaf season at www.salisburytownshippa.org. The location will also be posted in the Township office.


The Salisbury Township Department of Public Works will be conducting its leaf collection program starting Monday, October 24, 2016 and continuing through mid-December (weather permitting). We will start in the First Ward (east) and work westward. The Township crews generally cover the Township several times. Please note that the large number of trees in the Township make it impossible to guarantee a set pick up date for any street in the Township on any given day.

Residents are asked to place their leaves along the edge of the road prior to the start of pickup, which will be conducted from 7 a.m. to 3:30 p.m., Monday through Friday. If leaves are not in place when the crews go by, they will not be picked up until the next trip through that neighborhood. No return trips will be made to pick up leaves.

Please do not place pieces of wood, steel, rocks, concrete, trunks, etc. on the leaves in an attempt to hold them down. These objects cause extensive damage to the leaf machine and place them out of service at substantial expense to the taxpayers in both time and money.

In order to pick up leaves by mechanical means, it is necessary to dump the contents of the plastic bags or other containers into the gutter areas. Crews will not empty bags or containers; this is the responsibility of the residents. Branches, shrubbery, etc. will not be picked up. They will be left behind and are the responsibility of the property owner for removal and disposal.

To facilitate the vacuum leaf pickup, please keep all vehicles away from the area where leaves are piled. The crews will not rake leaves from under or between parked cars.

For your convenience, we will be posting leaf crew location and general direction of collection each Friday throughout the leaf season at www.salisburytownshippa.org. The location will also be posted in the Township office.

Your cooperation is appreciated. If you have any questions, please call the Department of Public Works at (610) 797-4000.

Fall Branch Collection

Attention Salisbury Residents: The Fall 2016 Curbside Branch Collection Program is scheduled to take place September 19–23, 2016. Residents should place the branches at the curb on Sunday after 6 p.m. Branches may be no longer than 5 feet long and 5 inches in diameter. Branches should be bundled and tied with twine. Open containers (no lids) can be used for small branches.

Trash Hauler Info

Republic Services
CUSTOMER SERVICE: 1-855-866-8399 (TOLL FREE)

Residents may call Republic Services for collection schedules and complaints. Please do not hesitate to contact the Township if you are not satisfied with your service or the hauler’s follow up concerning your inquiry.
*hauler does not collect leaves or yard waste*

Garbage Route Map

Garbage Route Map

Single Stream Recycling

Single Stream Recycling Info

Recycling Bin
Recycling bins are available for purchase at the window in the Finance Office.  Currently, we have 20-gallon bins available for $10 each.